Skip to main content

32nd Annual Carolina Blood Drive

June 2, 2020

Carolina Blood Drive Blood Drop

The Employee Forum and the American Red Cross invite the Carolina community to donate blood at the Carolina Blood Drive, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m., Tuesday, June 2 at the Dean Smith Center.

As we work together to get through these tough times, consider making a blood donation. Over the past 32 years, the Carolina Blood Drive has potentially impacted more than 100,000 patients who require lifesaving blood transfusions, including those who need surgery, cancer treatments or trauma victims. The longstanding Carolina tradition aims to help save hundreds more lives this June. We recognize that not everyone can participate in the drive due to remote operations. Individuals who are able, and are healthy and feeling well are invited to schedule a donation appointment at the Carolina Blood Drive.

Red Cross employees follow thorough safety protocols to reduce the spread of infection, as outlined by the FDA. The Red Cross has also implemented CDC-recommended sanitary measures to ensure the health of staff, volunteers and donors. Additional precautions include the following:

  • Checking staff, volunteer and donor temperatures before entering a drive to make sure they are healthy.
  • Providing hand sanitizer for use before entering the drives, and throughout the donation process.
  • Following social distancing between donors including entry, donation and refreshment areas.
  • Ensuring staff, volunteers and donors wear face masks or coverings and providing masks to those who need them.
  • Routinely disinfecting surfaces, equipment and donor touched areas.
  • Wearing gloves and changing gloves often.
  • Using sterile collection sets and an aseptic scrub for every donation.

Presenting donors will receive a commemorative Carolina Blood Drive T-shirt and free food. There will be plenty of free parking at the Smith Center, or ride with Chapel Hill Transit. For UNC-Chapel Hill employees, time spent donating or volunteering is considered work time, with permission from a supervisor.

Make your appointment to be part of the Carolina Blood Drive; download the Red Cross Blood Donor App, visit redcrossblood.org or call 1-800-RED CROSS (1-800-733-2767) sponsor code UNC. Walk-ins will be accepted the day of the drive, but appointments are encouraged.

To volunteer, or for more details, visit carolinablooddrive.unc.edu. During this unprecedented time, your generous donation and time volunteering makes all the difference.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

POSTPONED: Employee Forum Book Club: Confessions of an Innocent Man

May 28, 2020

 

The Employee Forum Book Club will meet Thursday, May 28th from noon-1 p.m. at 2005 Michael Hooker Research Center to discuss Confessions of an Innocent Man by David Row.  Lunch will be provided with registration. (Book Release Date:  3.31.2020)

From GoodReads:

“Every person wrongfully convicted of a crime at some point dreams of getting revenge against the system. In Confessions of an Innocent Man, the dream comes true and in a spectacular way.”–John Grisham, New York Times bestselling author of The Reckoning

A thrillingly suspenseful debut novel, and a fierce howl of rage that questions the true meaning of justice.

Rafael Zhettah relishes the simplicity and freedom of his life. He is the owner and head chef of a promising Houston restaurant. A pilot with open access to the boundless Texas horizon. A bachelor, content with having few personal or material attachments that ground him. Then, lightning strikes. When he finds Tieresse–billionaire, philanthropist, sophisticate, bombshell–sitting at one of his tables, he also finds his soul mate and his life starts again. And just as fast, when she is brutally murdered in their home, when he is convicted of the crime, when he is sentenced to die, it is all ripped away. But for Rafael Zhettah, death row is not the end. It is only the beginning. Now, with his recaptured freedom, he will stop at nothing to deliver justice to those who stole everything from him.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

POSTPONED: Employee Forum Book Club: In Five Years

April 23, 2020

 

The Employee Forum Book Club will meet Thursday, April 23rd from noon-1 p.m. at 2005 Michael Hooker Research Center to discuss In Five Years by Rebecca Serle.  Lunch will be provided with registration. (Book Release Date:  3.3.2020)

From GoodReads:

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day-a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night-December 15-but 2025, five years in the future.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Follow this website

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.