Employee Forum Book Club: Confessions of an Innocent Man

May 28, 2020

 

The Employee Forum Book Club will meet Thursday, May 28th from noon-1 p.m. at 2005 Michael Hooker Research Center to discuss Confessions of an Innocent Man by David Row.  Lunch will be provided with registration. (Book Release Date:  3.31.2020)

From GoodReads:

“Every person wrongfully convicted of a crime at some point dreams of getting revenge against the system. In Confessions of an Innocent Man, the dream comes true and in a spectacular way.”–John Grisham, New York Times bestselling author of The Reckoning

A thrillingly suspenseful debut novel, and a fierce howl of rage that questions the true meaning of justice.

Rafael Zhettah relishes the simplicity and freedom of his life. He is the owner and head chef of a promising Houston restaurant. A pilot with open access to the boundless Texas horizon. A bachelor, content with having few personal or material attachments that ground him. Then, lightning strikes. When he finds Tieresse–billionaire, philanthropist, sophisticate, bombshell–sitting at one of his tables, he also finds his soul mate and his life starts again. And just as fast, when she is brutally murdered in their home, when he is convicted of the crime, when he is sentenced to die, it is all ripped away. But for Rafael Zhettah, death row is not the end. It is only the beginning. Now, with his recaptured freedom, he will stop at nothing to deliver justice to those who stole everything from him.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Employee Forum Book Club: In Five Years

April 23, 2020

 

The Employee Forum Book Club will meet Thursday, April 23rd from noon-1 p.m. at 2005 Michael Hooker Research Center to discuss In Five Years by Rebecca Serle.  Lunch will be provided with registration. (Book Release Date:  3.3.2020)

From GoodReads:

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day-a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.

But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night-December 15-but 2025, five years in the future.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Employee Forum Book Club: The Other Mrs.

March 26, 2020

 

The Employee Forum Book Club will meet Thursday, March 26th from noon-1 p.m. at 2005 Michael Hooker Research Center to discuss The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica.  Lunch will be provided with registration. (Book Release Date:  2.18.2020)

From GoodReads:

Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbor, Morgan Baines, is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie, who is terrified by the thought of a killer in her very own backyard.

But it’s not just Morgan’s death that has Sadie on edge. It’s their eerie old home, with its decrepit decor and creepy attic, which they inherited from Will’s sister after she died unexpectedly. It’s Will’s disturbed teenage niece Imogen, with her dark and threatening presence. And it’s the troubling past that continues to wear at the seams of their family.

As the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of Morgan’s death. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs. Baines, the more she begins to realize just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email