Skip to main content
Winners of the 2015 Peer Recognition Awards. Photograph courtesy of Charles Streeter.


By Clare Counihan, Forum delegate

The Employee Forum hosted the Peer Recognition Awards on Friday, May 15, 2015, in the Pleasants Family Assembly Room of Wilson Library. Twenty members of staff from across the University won nine awards, with multiple winners in several categories. Winners received a certificate, an Employee Forum mug, and a small cash prize. Shane Hale, chair of the Education and Career Development Committee (ECDC), emceed the ceremony, assisted by Charles Streeter, chair of the Employee Forum, and Samara Reynolds, ECDC member. Following the ceremony, guests and award winners mingled and enjoyed a reception.

Since 2001, the Peer Recognition Awards have enabled staff to recognize and celebrate the hard work, dedication, and excellence of their peers in a number of areas. The ECDC, comprised of Forum delegates, selects winners from nominees submitted by co-workers and supervisors.

Please congratulate this year’s winners, and start thinking about who to nominate for next year!

Awards and Winners
Back Office Activity Award, for employees who work behind the scenes: Kay Babel, DG Eide, and Margarita Helms.

Big Buddy Award, for employees who have taken the time to mentor a fellow employee: Martin Chavious and John Gorman.

Call of Duty Award, for employees going above and beyond the expectations of their jobs:
Troy Cates and Emily Gomez.

Congeniality Award, for employees who improve office morale and are a pleasure to be around:
Violet Anderson and Karen Gilliam.

Customer Service Award, for employees who serve the University on the front lines: Marlene Drummond and Jacqui Holmes.

Rookie Award, for employees who have worked on campus more than 3 months but less than 1 year: Irina Olenicheva and Leslie Whitfield.

Self-Improvement Award, for an employee who has accomplished a personal, academic or professional goal: Taylor King.

Unsung Heel Award, for employees who serve the community and make a positive impact: Christina Crockett, Jill Fallin, Jeannene Pacheco, and Lars Sahl.

Comments are closed.