Skip to main content


The Employee Forum Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion strives to ensure diversity, equity, and inclusion matters of all employees— particularly those in marginalized communities— are addressed and at the forefront of the work of the Employee Forum. We operate under the principle that equity means leveling the playing field by providing resources and opportunities for underrepresented groups, with the understanding that creating equity allows everyone an opportunity to have a seat at the table, which promotes inclusion. This committee seeks to put those principles into practice by advocating for enhanced hiring practices, equal pay, and protecting those who are most vulnerable. We believe this will contribute to the flourishing of diversity across the Carolina community, thus empowering all employees to create a more just, caring, and equitable community for all.

Committee Members

Janet Steele --- Co-ChairComparative Medicine
Rebecca Howell --- Co-ChairSchool of Law
Jessye BongiovanniStudent Affairs
David BraggITS
Valerie CartagenaObstetrics/Gynecology
Tiffany CarverSchool of Social Work
Elizabeth DuboseSchool of Medicine
Jaci FieldAthletics
Adrianne GibiliscoDiversity & Inclusion
Leah HefnerUniversity Libraries
Brad HeldDigital Accessibility
Jessi HillCraniofacial & Surgical Care
Keith HinesCarolina Union Administration
Mary KingLineberger Cancer Center
Arlene MedderAuxiliary Services
Natiaya NealSchool of Public Health
Kelly Scurlock-Cross Obstetrics/Gynecology
Janice SingletaryCampus Health
Robert Smith IIINeurology
Sarah SmithCampus Y
Juan Enrique TusetFamily Medicine
Alice WhitesideUniversity Libraries
Michael WilliamsITS