Skip to main content

Recognition and Awards Committee 2022-2023 Report

Active committee members: Tiffany Carver (Co-Chair), Jessi Hill (Co-Chair), Randall Borror, Sharron Bouquin, Shayla Evans-Hollingsworth, Keith Hines, Rebecca Howell, Arlene Medder, Katie Musgrove, Julie Theriault, Matt Banks (non-voting member)

This committee is responsible for overseeing the annual Peer Recognition Awards. 181 nominations were received for the 2023 awards cycle. The committee selected a total of 14 employees to receive the following awards:

  • Hall of Famer (Staff Member of the Year)
    • Consistently exemplifies University’s mission of integrity, collaboration, respect & high-level customer service; been with the University at least 5 years
    • Awarded to:
      • Summer Montgomery – Biology
      • Kim Spurr – College of Arts & Sciences Dean’s Office
    • Perfect Addition (Staff Member of Year)
      • Consistently exemplifies the University’s mission of integrity, collaboration, respect & high-level customer service; been with the University at least 2 years
      • Awarded to:
        • Becca Gillison – Carolina Housing
        • Julianne Hall – Chemistry
      • Professional Excellence
        • Exceptional execution above & beyond assigned duties; supportive interactions within their department and between campus departments; exemplary interaction with the outside community
        • Awarded to:
          • Vaughn Booker – ITS- Education Technologies (awarded posthumously)
          • Judy Owen – FPG Child Development Institute
          • Chris Pendergrass – Carolina Performing Arts
          • Michelle Song – Social Medicine
          • Sloan Thompson – SA Violence Prevention and Advocacy Services
        • Overton Leadership Award
          • Honoring the memory of Jackie Overton, beloved Forum Chair; honoring individuals who lead their unit and the University through involvement in staff issues, committee work, teamwork and professional development of peers; nominees should demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities, inspire and involve others, and work to ensure their impact is long-lasting
          • Awarded to:
            • Jamila Lunsford – Division of Comparative Medicine
            • Cathy “Coop” Roberts-Cooper – Carolina Housing, Residential Learning
          • Pinnacle
            • Demonstrated leadership, vision and commitment to excellence; on a path of continuous learning through professional development
            • Awarded to:
              • Jane McDaniel – Office of Medical Student Education
              • Adam Shirey – Health Sciences
            • 3-Legged Stool (Community Award)
              • Awarded to recognize distinguished contributions by an individual promoting collaboration among faculty, staff, and students
              • Awarded to:
                • Patrick Preudhomme – Carolina Housing

This committee is also responsible for selecting the Rebecca Clark Staff Award for Moral Courage. The Rebecca Clark Staff award for Moral Courage recognizes staff members on campus who have advocated on behalf of other staff at the University and who have improved working conditions for others on campus.

At the time of authoring this report, the 2023 recipient has not been shared publicly. The 2022 recipient, Charletta Sims Evans from the Gillings School of Global Public Health, was recognized in October 2022 during the University Day celebration.

The committee recommendations for the 2024 cycle are as follows:

  • Re-adjust the word count limit to 250-500. We would still like for nominators to include as much detail as they can about why they are submitting their nominee for the award and provide specific examples of ways in which the nominee carries out the description of the award.
  • Add a note to the Qualtrics form that nominations must be unique and cannot be copied and pasted. If identical nominations are submitted, only one will be submitted for review.
  • For the Rebecca Clark award, we should include an area for nominators to submit contact information for other stakeholders who may be able to elaborate on the nominees’ qualifications.